Corona: Eduardo’s authentic mexican food.

Carnitas @ Edwardo’s. Photo by: Brittany Ritzi

I moved to California from Florida when I was eight years old and at that point in time I believed that Taco Bell was the definition of Mexican food. Thankfully, growing up in southern California has taught me otherwise. I’ve learned to develop an obsession for Mexican food, and I find I cannot go more than a few days without inhaling a bowl, or three, of chips and salsa.

Eduardo’s Mexican Restaurant has been a family favorite since we first moved to California. Our Sunday after-church tradition of eating there quickly allowed my family to get on first name basis with Eduardo himself, as well as much of the serving staff. They are quick to welcome us and make us feel at home anytime we walk through the door.

I understand that I live in southern California and saying that somewhere has the best Mexican food is similar to saying you serve the best pizza in New York City, so let me explain what sets Eduardo’s above the rest.

First off, they serve my favorite salsa. Great consistency, spiciness, and it’s unlimited! I cannot even count how many times I have filled up on chips and salsa before ever even getting my meal. I think what makes it so tasty is that they use a lot of green onions, which happen to be a favorite ingredient of mine.

Secondly, the menu has a variety of options including all the basics of great Mexican food. Some family favorites are the carnitas plate, chile verde, albondigas, carne asada, enchiladas, and of course the super burrito. The super burrito is HUGE! It’s a classic go-to for all the men in my family. I think its almost one of those Man vs. Food moments when the huge burrito gets placed in front of them, it’s like a challenge every time. The burrito includes your choice of meat plus beans, rice, cheese, guacamole, lettuce, and pico de gallo all wrapped up in two large flour tortillas. If you want even more flavor get it wet with their enchilada sauce or the chile verde sauce! Their enchilada sauce doesn’t taste like it was just poured out of a can like other local spots.

Thirdly, if you’re looking to eat out on a budget, give Eduardo’s a try during their lunch menu from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday. Deals start at $4.65 and even my favorite Carnitas plate is only $6.65, that’s less than a burrito at Chipotle! However, if you want to experience their home-made corn tortillas, you’ll have to go on a Sunday.

Overall, it’s if you’re looking for great Mexican food, venture out to my hometown, Corona, and give Eduardo’s a try, definitely worth your time and money!

2 thoughts on “Corona: Eduardo’s authentic mexican food.

Leave a Reply

